Day 69: Little Owls Everywhere

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“When we have inner peace, we can be at peace with those around us.”
Wow. Think about it. If you want peace around you, you must have peace within yourself. That’s a pretty simple thought. But yet, it is so complex that litterally I am sitting here at the computer pondering the idea.
I’m a Sagittarius. We’re fun people, us sags. Together I join Jim Morrison, Ozzy Osborne, Frank Sinatra, and Osho. Yeah. I’m telling you about my sign because in general, Sagitarians, we love to stand by our convictions. We love to raise a fuss (in case you didn’t notice from the other sags listed).
Raising hell, that’s one of the things I did best in my late teens and early twenties. i wanted so badly to find a peaceful world; a place where I was not being judged, laughed at, or abused. I had so much war in my mind, my body, and my soul….so much conflict within myself.
Everything I wanted….it never came; not until I accepted myself.
When I met my husband, I still had my issues.
The peace around me that I see, is there because I decided to work on me.
Micheal Jackson’s song comes to my mind (I’m a MJ fan, seriously):
I’m Starting With The Man In
The Mirror
I’m Asking Him To Change
His Ways
And No Message Could Have
Been Any Clearer
If You Wanna Make The World
A Better Place
If You Wanna Make The
World A Better Place
Take A Look At Yourself, And
Then Make A Change
So what do you seek in your environment and in your world? Do it within yourself. Change it in you. CHANGE. Evolve into who you see, and what you want. It happens by letting go.
One of the things that disappointed me about NYC was the lack of real community in the handmade community, and in the craft world.
Everyone is scattered everywhere here. At times you’ll meet a knitter on the subway who’ll just smile at you slightly. And you don’t dare smile back, thinking she might be a serial killer or crazy person who talks to much. So I started my own group. I have met a lot of people, some good and some truly crazy. But life is about taking risks and evolving. Look at nature. It evolves. And when it’s time, it lets go.
If we were to look at nature, perhaps we could take an example.
So for today’s crafty endeavor, I had a fun little workshop with my craft group where we made these fun little owl stuffies with my stash of vintage fabrics.
This one isn’t mine, but isn’t it cute?
This is my sad little owl. He’s sad because he had to be rushed, in between baby wrangling.
He’s finished, but it’s late, and lateness means crap pictures. So really, I’m sparing you.
I’ll post a picture tomorrow.
The Craftaholic