Day 68: Cookies and Works in Progress

by thecraftaholic

“Human beings will continue to deceive and overpower one another. Basically, everyone exists in the very nature of suffering, so to abuse or mistreat each other is futile. The foundation of all spiritual practice is love. That you practice this well is my only request.”

So what I’m thinking, is that we need to examine ourselves. What does it mean, for us to love?
Love, as I’ve mentioned before, is indeed an action. In order to understand any path of spirituality, one must learn what love really is, what it means to truly love.
The funny thing is that when I looked up love on Dictionary.com, there were two definitions, or rather two categories of meanings for the word. One as a noun, and one as a verb.
I prefer to use the verb meaning. Because true love, is in fact a verb.
So here’s the dictionary meaning:
–verb (used with object)

15. to have love or affection for: All her pupils love her.
16. to have a profoundly tender, passionate affection for (another person).
17. to have a strong liking for; take great pleasure in: to love music.
18. to need or require; benefit greatly from: Plants love sunlight.
19. to embrace and kiss (someone), as a lover.


Well, I can tell you disagree with the meanings. I don’t think that you can really capture what love is in words. I don’t.
One thing that stays with me about growing up in the pentecostal faith, is this passage in Corinthians, where Paul (I think? It’s been a while…) is talking about love, and it’s importance.
Again, I don’t subscribe to any one particular branch of religion. I really just what the verse says. So thanks to the internet, I shall copy and paste below:
If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal. 2 And if I have prophetic powers, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have all faith, so as to remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. 3 If I give away all I have, and if I deliver up my body to be burned, [1] but have not love, I gain nothing.

It captures what the Dalai Lama said, completely.
Love, man. It’s a cool thing to pass on. It doesn’t just mean loving ourselves, but having enough love to not be that obnoxious person that has their hand on the horn ready for when the red light turns green.
We can try to love in every day things, like perhaps buying a homeless person a cup of coffee on a cold day? Or donating your clothing instead of throwing it away. Or something. Just try to show love in the every day. Perhaps when you’re on the phone with a lovely customer service person. If we each decide to do this, then we can together create a world of peace and love, instead of a world of judgment and war.
So for today’s crafty endeavor, I made dinosaur cookies with my little one.
Dinosaur shaped shortbread cookies. My daughter decorated them. And decided that many of them didn’t need their heads attached. I’ve also decided to share my top secret family recipe for almond shortbread cookies with you. You should consider yourself quite lucky, indeed.
I did finish the set of butterfly books, but I think they’re going in the Xmas gift pile. I also started a new project. Since there are only 6 weeks left for Xmas, I’ve started working on some (yes) Christmas tree decorations. I am using my German glass glitter for this, and some matchboxes. The rest, shall remain a mistery to you all, but suffice to say, it shall be fabulous, darling.
So here’s the recipe:
Almond Shortbread Cookies
(I’ve doubled the original recipe, because more cookies are just better)

2 cups of unbleached flour
3/4 cup of light brown sugar
a dash of salt
2 sticks of REAL butter
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon almond extract
About half a bag of sliced almonds
Blend the butter first with the sugar, then add the salt, and vanilla, then the flour.
Roll into a ball, and then roll out flat and cut out shapes.
Then bake it on an ungreased cookie sheet for about 10 minutes, or until the edges are brown.
Or you could just shape into a pie shape, as what is traditional. But why go with the norm?

Oh! here’s what my desk looks like right now:
There’s the jar of glass glitter on the top left. And inside those plastic jars, is a lovely collection of metal acrylic paint! Copper, gold, silver, brass….
If you live in the NYC area, I highly reccomend Jack’s 99 Cent world. I found acrylic paints, canvas, artist papers….lots of cool stuff!
Well, that’s all for now.
Tomorow, I’ll be making owl stuffies for my daughter for Xmas! Or perhaps for myself. Maybe I’ll keep them.
The Craftaholic
