Inspiration Thursday

by thecraftaholic

 

What does it mean to you, when you think of moving on? I was working in my art journal, and I found myself writing about moving on. For years, I found myself angry, and still in pain over what I went through growing up. I would blame, and become angered, that my mother could act the way she did, and that my father could just sit there and allow all that to happen to his daughter.

It almost felt comforting to be angry, in a way. It was like I was punishing them for the damage they did to me.

I realize now, that the only person I was punishing was myself and my family. Being angry at things from the past only ages you, and makes you miserable, and alienates those who love you.

When I gave birth to my daughter, I decided that I wanted to be more serious about my goals, about what I wanted in life. The process of writing, of painting, collage work, and even sitting and crocheting truly was what made me discover a nother part of myself. I realized I had the power to heal myself, through my art, and so I did.

There was a time in my life that I thought I would never find love, or have children. What I have now, is because I chose to move on with my life, and not stay sitting in misery. I chose to look toward the future, as my daughter looks at the ocean in this picture.

I really have no advice for you, when it comes to moving on. What I can tell you, is that my art, my husband and my spiritual path was what truly empowered me. Often times, in speaking to an atheist, they will tell you that it is not the religion or spiritual path that heals you, but the faith YOU put into it. It’s sort of empowering to think about. YOU contain all the power you need to heal yourself, and your art? Your art is a part of that. Your spiritual path can be a part of that. Your family can be a part of that. But you alone contain all you need to heal yourself.

When all else fails, turn to your art, and just….let go. Just take a deep breath, and let it go.  Paint, draw, write, and just….let it go.

 

 

PS. –> Help FUND my CAUSE!

The Craftaholic

Subscribe to MY NEWSLETTER!

Visit my Etsy Shop!

