Inspiration Thursday

by thecraftaholic

“Desire is the key to motivation, but it’s the determination and commitment to an unrelenting pursuit of your goal – a commitment to excellence – that will enable you to attain the success you seek.”

– Mario Andretti

Am I not always the one telling you to not give up? You can’t. It’s important, while dealing with the kids, and the house, dinner and your spouse (hey, that rhymed!), to just not give up.

Make yourself a priority, that is what you must do. Make yourself and your goals important. It is as important as eating and drinking, for you to pursue your art and your goal.

I may have issues with my mom, but one thing I do admire, is that she went to school. When I was about my daughter’s age now, she went back to school at night, while working full time. And my father was not a man who cleaned up, or did anything. So she had to come home from school to clean, do laundry, and cook. Sad, really. But I digress. I do admire that she did what her goal was, which was  to go to school and become a teacher.

I began to pursue my art a lot more, when my daughter was born, because I wanted to give her something to admire in me. I’ve come pretty far, I think. Having grown up with the troublesome parents that I did, constantly moving, being put down all the time, and then dealing with corporal punishment, I grew out of all that.

It’s not just that I have some corny white picket fence, or some perfect life. I mean, a white picket fence may be nice one day, but I am actually pursuing my dreams. MY dreams. My goals. I’m putting myself as a priority, because when I do that, I empower myself to become a better mother, and I can be there for my family in a better way, because I’m also setting time aside to pursue my art.

I love my family. I love my daughter and my husband very much. So I want to grow and become my own individual me, so that I can be truly present, when we cook, when we bake, when we go out together as a family. If I didn’t take time out for me, I’d be denying myself. Why should I deny myself the pursuit of my goals?

Don’t deny yourself. Take out the time, even if it’s five minutes, to be creative. Bring a sketchbook in your purse. Do your embroidery work while you wait at the doctor’s office. Just do something. Always be creative. Every day. Pursue yourself.

 

 

The Craftaholic

Visit my NEW Online Shop!

Visit my Etsy Shop


