Inspiration Thursday

by thecraftaholic

 

Quote:

“Listen to the MUSTN’TS child,
Listen to the DON’TS
Listen to the IMPOSSIBLES the WON’TS
Listen to the NEVER HAVES
Then listen close to me-
Anything can happen, child,
ANYTHING can be.”
-Shel Silverstein

 

I love Shel Silverstein. He’s one of my favorite writers. Often when I want to read his poems, I make the excuse of reading them to my daughter, so that I can read them.

I love this poem in particular.

Following up on what I spoke about last week, this poem goes rather nicely, don’t you think?

No one ever told me that I could do anything I want. So I never believed it until quite recently. And now I’m telling you: you can be anything you want to be, become who you want to become, and achieve what you wish.

The secret is to not let anyone get in your way. You must want what you want, and you must want it with your whole heart and soul. Allow your desire to become your drive to succeed. Allow yourself to go for it. Don’t listen to the people who tell you that you may never get there, or the people who remind you how impossible your dream is. The people who tell you that have their own issues, so don’t listen to them.

Dream the impossible, I say. You never know what the future holds. I certainly never thought that I would ever heal from the crap that I was dealt as a child, from the lack of love that I experienced growing up.

I never thought that I would ever be sitting here, with a child and my sanity in tact. Life is good. And god or the universe, or the great creator of being, or whatever you want to call it/her/him is slowly acknowledging their exsistence. Growing up, I was sure that the Tom Waits song was correct and that god really was away on business. Who knows. Spirituality is such a personal thing, and that is why I rarely talk about it.

But I digress to the topic on hand.

Dream. Always dream. Don’t be afraid of them, or hinder them with thoughts of reality. Who cares if it seems impossible. You can do anything you set your mind to. Walk on the moon? No problem. Become a famous musician? Easy peasy.

It all starts with daring to love yourself. Love yourself the way you would want someone to love you. Love. Love yourself first, then you will see that you ARE worth all the dreams in the world.

 

The Craftaholic

Visit my NEW Online Shop!

Visit my Etsy Shop!

 

