Inspiration Thursday

by thecraftaholic

“The highest reward for man’s toil is not what he gets for it, but what he becomes by it.” -John Ruskin 1819-1900

Most of you know that I run a craft group through meetup. In this group, I host and teach workshops, and have fun free events. A lot of times, my members will ask me what made me start this, and why did I decide to create this group.

So I’ll tell you why I started “The Craftaholic’s School of Art & Creativity”.

I went through a lot growing up. My home life was not always happy, and all that.

Anyways, after I gave birth to my daughter, I started working on my art, and realizing that I was healing myself, and moving on from a lot of the damage that was done years ago. I wanted to inspire others to make art, and heal their life. So I started a group on meetup.

My goal was to be an inspiration to others, to teach them to create beautiful things, and look at their lives differently and look at their art differently. Everyone is born an artist, Pablo Picasso said. I believe that. It’s not just for the elitist painters who perhaps you think  fancy themselves a bit better than you, it’s for the person who enjoys making cards and the like. Art is, as my friend A. bogs says, for folks. It’s for everyone. And it has become my mission, to teach people that.

So that’s why I started this group. And when you attend a workshop, a part of me, goes into each event. Truly, I love teaching people to create. I get such a rush from it. And it is truly from a place of love and passion that I organize the events that I do.

That being said, everything you do, should come from a place of love. Don’t just do something because it pays the rent, or because you wish to make a living off of it. Do something because it ignites fire within you, because it lights your spirit and creates a passion within you. This is the work that will empower you, and allow you to evolve and grow further into yourself.

When my daughter asks me how she was born, I tell her she was born out of the love between two people, and that love is what created her in my belly, and my love for her, empowered me to push her out from within my womb, with Fats Waller playing in the background. She was born out of the love that I had for her.

Love creates things. It changes things, and makes the world go around. For without love, you cannot go to work. Either because you love your job, or you love the person who depends on you going to that job. Love.

Think about love. Think about the magnitude of it. Think of how it truly does make the world spin. And give of yourself. Become yourself. Do what you love.  Allow your vocation to teach you something in life. And in this way, it can change you for the better. And teach you what love truly is. Love is everywhere.  Just like art is everywhere. Love and art go hand in hand. Both surround you at all sides. Just look around. Look for it.

Because of the work I’ve been doing for the past three years I have become a mother, artist, writer and good friend. I have grown into the person I so longed to become as a teenager, living with abusive parents who only knew how to speak in put-downs and corporal punishment.

My art and my life with my daughter truly changed me into who I am, and for that I am forever in her debt.

The Craftaholic

Visit my NEW Online Shop!

Check out my Etsy Shop!

