Inspiration Thursday

by thecraftaholic

“You cannot change anything in your life with intention alone, which can become a watered-down, occasional hope that you’ll get to tomorrow. Intention without action is useless.”
– Caroline Myss

I realize that I forgot all about inspiration Thursday last week. Ooops. Sorry about that. I wasn’t feeling very well last week, and somehow or other, it just slipped my mind.

Anyway, I’ve got a picture this week of my daughter, because she is the reason why I started all of this: my husband and daughter both are.

I was always a pretty creative person. I always did collage work, and wrote poems, ever since I was a little girl. My husband is a classically trained artist who went to the “FAME” High School. So when I met him, I felt so inspired by him, but intimidated at the same time.

I never pursued anything with my art or creativity because of my own issues, and struggles. I was too busy looking at all the negativity in my past, to see the beauty ahead. I just stood there, stagnant, with only empty hopes and dreams. Empty, because there was no action to back them.

After my daughter was born, I started seeking out more creative types. I attended a Latina writers group here in New York, that is mostly based in manhattan. The organizer was very nice and allowed me to bring my newborn into the group.

My mother raised me to never look up to people. She always told me, “people will let you down, but God never will.” So to this day, I still believe that. I don’t really look up to people at all. There is nothing in another human that makes them less human than I. Anyway, I remember the organizer (who’s name is Alicia) mentioned that she started pursuing her writing in attempts to give her daughter something; to leave her with something after she was gone.

I started to think about that. Although I already had at that point about 10 or more journals for her to read one day, I wanted to make her proud of me.

I have a lot of issues with my mother, I will admit. But one thing she did was go back to school. She made something of herself, and for that I admire her. At least that part of her, I admire. So I wanted to give my daughter something to admire also. I wanted to tell her, that although life burned me, I rose up from the ashes like a phoenix and became the person I wanted to be, the person I am destined to be.

So at that point, I decided to truly pursue my art. I write, of course. Writing is a part of me. I can never not do that. It’s like eating, or taking vitamins: sure you can go without, but after a while, you get sick.

I started a small craft group, and blogging, and doing and trying, and making and evolving….until I am sitting here now still evolving, becoming and making.

The quote for today was borrowed from a friend on facebook. I want to tell you that you will get nowhere in life, by simply saying, “one day, it will happen”. You will only achieve what you long to, when you begin working at it. You can only get to where you want to go, by putting one foot in front of the other, constantly moving forward, like the main character in “Pilgrim’s Progress”. Though he faced many tribulations, he kept on moving.

Start achieving. Start creating. Start evolving. Do it now. Don’t be afraid. Don’t be intimidated by the talent of others. Believe in yourself. A true artist does not need to compete with others. When you are truly talented and believe in your talent, that alone will suffice.

The Craftaholic

Visit my NEW Online Shop!

