Inspiration Thursday

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“Christmas gift suggestions: To your enemy, forgiveness. To an opponent, tolerance. To a friend, your heart. To a customer, service. To all, charity. To every child, a good example. To yourself, respect.”
~ Oren Arnold

I LOVE Christmas, don’t you? I love that I live in New York City, where everything is always lit up, and decorated for Christmas. I live in Brooklyn, but I do love going up to Manhattan and seeing all the glassy eyed tourists, in awe of the city. It almost seems magical.

A lot of my friends, they aren’t big on Christmas. At all. And I love it so much, I’m like a kid on Christmas. To me, it’s not about the gifts that I recieve, but the ones that I make. It’s about the love that goes into what I make for you. It’s about seeing my daughter open her gifts, taking her to see Santa Claus (and her getting freaked out), putting presents under the tree, and making Christmas cookies for Santa. I love that. Just being with my family, and knowing that I made something for my husband. I made something for my mother, sister and in laws. You know?

New York City is a very materialistic city. It’s the Fashion Capital of the world; because of this, it leaks a culture into everything. Even into crafts, and my craft group. New Yorkers are fashion oriented. With fashion comes art. And with that, comes a sort of….expectancy of something greater. But this year, let’s change the way we think about Christmas.

Instead of EXPECTING try giving. Try serving. Serve others this christmas. Invite someone to your home, who has no family. Step outside yourself, and think of others. Be happy this christmas. If not for yourself, then for your children, your dog, and the world around you. When you shine brightly, the world can see better in this dark and dreary world, where life is not always what we expect it to be.

Christmas is not and does not have to be just for children as my spouse sometimes says. It is about the spirit of it all, and allowing this time of year, to permeate into your life, all year ’round.

How does one do this, you may ask?

Well it is simple. Think of charity. Think of giving. Think of serving, instead of thinking that you wish to be served. I’m a big believer in Karma, so if you want something to come your way, it’s a good idea to give it.

Be happy this christmas. Don’t be surly or grinch like. Christmas isn’t about materialism. It’s about charity, love and a season of family and friends.

The Craftaholic

Visit my NEW online shop!

