Inspiration Thursday

by thecraftaholic

“The best way out is always through.”

-Robert Frost

The one thing that attracted me to my husband was when I was sitting at the diner, and my friend Arturo told me, “Yeah, Jose’s an amazing painter. He’s really really good!”

Immediately I get flashbacks to a movie I saw of Pablo Picasso. I was so turned on, I will admit.

Years later, we are still together, but that’s not the point of today’s post.

My husband and I have a few things in common, though he is a Taurus (grounded and planned out)and I am a Sagittarius (impulsive and philosophical). The one thing we have in common is that we each had our own struggles growing up. I mean, niehter one of us, had perfect parents, or this great leave it to beaver life. Perhaps there are few that do (although on another note, I have a friend who does).

Not all of us are lucky enough to have that, though. We all go through things. We all have stuff to deal with. The darkness, as I call it. It’s that stuff that I didn’t want to deal with AT ALL. I didn’t know how my husband went through the things he went through and still kept his sanity. I barely am out from under the shadows, and am clinging to my sanity (but then, I like being a little nuts).

He tells me, “Diana, don’t avoid the issues. Confront things head on”.

That’s why I have his picture, as my inspirational photo. Because, in a cheesy way, he inspires me. I can’t tell you how amazing it is to be creative and artistic and be married to someone who feeds your creativity. I tell him, “Art is about healing your life!” and he tells me, “Art is about being creative. Creativity is what heals, not art!” and it’s true, but that is to determined by the artist, not by me.

Robert frost would agree then, with Jose’s way of seeing things. Instead of avoiding, go thru it. Don’t be afraid of feeling the things again. Instead, you turn to your higher power. You work through it. Pray, meditate, and make art to help you through it. Writing helped me a lot, and still does.

Working through the darkness will empower you to get to the light, that place that is only good that gives you what you need to succeed in life. But you must work thorugh your issues, work through your darkness. Don’t avoid it, because avoiding will not stop the issues that you’re dealing with. It won’t stop you from making choices based on what the things you haven’t dealt with.

Sometimes life puts us in situations that we feel we can never dig ourselves out of. So we give up.

But don’t give up. Keep trying, and don’t ever give up. Keep moving. Keep walking. And as the saying goes, “when all else fails, try, try, again.”

So, go. Do. Work through it. Then come out of it, to the other side, empowered, enlightened and ready to pursue your dreams. Yes, you may feel anger. Yes, you may realize you have been bitter for 10 years. Yes. But it’s part of the process. It’s part of the journey into yourself.

We are all like butterflies. We must grow and cocoon and evolve into ourselves. It’s a life long process, but it starts with moving beyond the darkness in your life. Move beyond it. Go through it, and greet your yourself at the other side, ready to make more art and become your dream.

The Craftaholic

