Inspiration Thursday

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“First say to yourself what you would be; and then do what you have to do.”

–Epictetus

The picture I chose today, is a photo of my good friend A. Bogs. He’s a professional artist, and a musician and I find him quite inspiring (when I say professional, I mean that he went to college, and now works towards it full time).

This shot was of him, while he was still living in New York City (he lives in Rochester now). He is the original “altered artist” and takes pieces of junk and things, and makes really cool artwork. Plus, he’s a cool guy and his wife is an amazing artist and cook as well.

So then, what about you what do you want to do? Change the world? Go back to college and finish your degree? Become a self employed artist? What is it that you wish to pursue? Do it. Pursue it. Get it. Make it happen.

You’re now thinking of the million and one excuses for why you cannot. Right? You can dream up a thousand and one excuses. STOP making excuses and do what you want with your life!

In your journal, write down your ultimate goal. What is it? To be self employed as an artist, let’s say.

Now, how do you get there? Make an org. chart. If you’ve ever worked in corporate america, you know that I’m pulling this from those days when I worked for merrill lynch.

An Org. Chart is an Organizational chart. I don’t have an example. Sorry. It’s basically squares. Squares branching off of each other like a tree. In fact, it is a family tree, but for a corporation. It is normally a way to organize their leaders and managers from the bean counters.

Click on the link above, and check out what an org. chart looks like, and then make one of your own. It’s your “Aspirations chart”. And then, do it. Go to it. Become your dream, as James De La Vega says.

Don’t let anything get in the way of your dreams. Motherhood doesn’t get in the way of my dreams, it enhances it. Why is this? Because I want to give my daughter something positive to look up to me with.

I have a lot of issues with my mother, I will admit. Although I won’t bore you with the details, the one thing she did right, was go to school. When I was about 2 or 3 or something, my dad would stay with me at night, while my mom went to school. I like that she went to school and became a professional.

Anyway, my point is the only thing stopping you from becoming your dream is you. There is no day like the present to work towards what you want in life. You know?

Janis Joplin once said, “Don’t compromise yourself. You’re all you’ve got.”

Think about that. You have but one life that you live on this earth, so why not have fun while you’re here? And what’s more fun that going towards what you want in life, right?

The Craftaholic

