Inspiration Thursday

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“Everyone thinks of changing the world, but no one thinks of changing himself.”

– Leo Tolsloy

We have a miriad of dreams, a world full of ideas

goals and hopes

but before we decide to change the world with our hopes and our dreams, we must

allow our goals and our dreams

to change us first.

It’s as Ghandi said-we must BE the change we wish to see in the world.

Change yourself, and the world around you will change.

Today is thanksgiving.

While I don’t so much get into this holiday, I will say that it is a nice idea to just have one day

to celebrate as a holiday of just

being

thankful.

Thankfulness. Could this really change anything?

While it does not so much pay your rent and bills it DOES change you.

thankfulness changes you.

Be thankful today, and every day.

Be thankful for your art, and your talent. Be thankful to be able to see the world and translate it into knit, crochet, painting, collaging or rubberstamping or book binding or whatever your creative pursuits may be.

I’m thankful today.

I’m thankful for my family.

I’m thankful for my husband who I met 11 years ago, in a small club in New York City. A man who encouraged me with my art and creativity, and loved me as crazy, and eccentric, and flamboyant as I can be.

From love, comes many amazing things.

When my daughter asks me how she was born (she’s only three, remember) I normally tell her that my husband and I loved each other so much, that our love created her in my belly. While this may be a stretch of the truth, there is truth to it.

My life changed the day I married my husband, and it grew into soemthing amazing, on that day in May when I realized I was in labor, when I gave birth to our daughter, with Count Basie playing in the background. My love for my husband and our love for each other grew into something most amazing-my daughter.

Not only did this change me in making me a wife AND a mother, but having her inspired me to give my daughter more. This is when I decided to pursue my art in a serious way, and decided to make it my business to inspire others to create beauty with art, textiles, paints, and whatever they fancy.

Love and thankfulness create amazing things. They change you. When I stopped being bitter about my past, and started being thankful, my art blossomed, my relationships blossomed, and I blossomed.

Change yourself. Be thankful today. Be thankful that we are beings that have an amazing capacity to love.

Love creates. Thankfulness encourages growth.

The Craftaholic

