Inspiration Thursday

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“There is no right or wrong when it comes to making art. Making sure that you have fun is the most important part.”

-Mickey Mouse

I borrowed this week’s quote from a friend on Craftster.

Rules and regulations. As children, we need them; we need the structure that our parents provide for us, so that we may understand the way the world works.

In the world of art and creativity, do we really need to have rules? Do we really need to say, “this is this way and that is that way”?

We don’t think about the rules that we place until they are already in place. Think again, of the things you long to create or ake, but think to yourself, “I couldn’t do that” or “I’m not good enough”.

Who ever said you aren’t good enough? Those thoughts come from an idea of what you think that should be.

When I met my husband I didn’t consider myself an artist. Back then, collage and mixed media wasn’t really respected the way it is now. I would tell people, “I just like to put scraps of things together and make them look interesting”.

So here’s this week’s challenge to you: do what you wish, without structure.

I want you to take the medium that you find the most challenging, and just do it. Just do it, and don’t structure yourself! Draw today, in your journal. Don’t judge yourself. Don’t criticize yourself. Just have fun. Go with the flow. Observe nature and draw about it. Draw what you see around you.

