Butterfly ATC

by thecraftaholic

When I first dabbled in “traditional” crafts, I started with making ATCs since I’m a collage artist, first and foremost. I haven’t actually made one in such a long time, and really wanted to get back to that, so I made a fun ATC with some supplies by All Night Media (by Plaid Crafts).

You like it? It’s soft and pretty, which isn’t normally my style, but I do like butterflies a lot.

The butterfly stamp is H100 Proof Press, and the sentiment is by Stampin’ Up. The ribbon is from my stash. I created my own background by smudging pigment ink pads on the paper, and stamping with a stamp from the set, “Ornamental” by All Night Media (by Plaid Crafts). I love love love this set!  It does make a pretty background.

I also used pop up dots by All Night Media. They make pop up dots, yes! And in the two sheets that come in a pack, you get assorted sizes, which comes in handy for various projects.

This is a sort of soft and feminine project, which in general is not my thing, but it’s working here. I added the ribbon so it can be a bookmark as well.

Most of you know that I’m a big fan of recycling. So yes, I used baseball cards for this one. I have a whole bunch of baseball cards that I bought on ebay and etsy a while back, so i’ll be using them for ATCs. It’s cool, because I don’t need to buy the precut paper! Cool, right?

One funny thing is that since I am designing for Plaid Crafts, and am a guest designer for several others, I rarely run out of supplies! The only thing I do run out of is card stock and glue. It’s a blessing, for sure.

I say this because the other day, I was at the fine art supply store, and realized I really only needed watercolor paper and glue. But you know what? They have pre-cut ATC paper, and even sell little cases to keep them in! At the art supply store! Cool, eh? But for me, I’d rather just make my own case, once I have enough of them (ATCs, that is).

You know on a side note, when  I finished my 365 day creative journey, I thought for sure that I wouldn’t be posting as often as I am. But I am! I can’t help it. Sometimes I make something and get so excited about it, I just can’t wait to share it.

