Inspiration Thursday

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“There is a sacredness in tears. They are not the mark of weakness but of power. They are messengers of overwhelming grief and of unspeakable love.”

-Washington Irving

I grew up with people telling me, “Big girls don’t cry”. When my brother passed away people told me, “don’t cry, Diana, he’s in heaven”. When my grandmother, who was like a mother to me, passed away, people said the same thing. They said it in efforts to comfort me.

Well, I don’t know about you, but when someone you loved has passed away, the first thing on your mind is crying your eyeballs out.

As a parent, you may find yourself telling your child not to cry. Sometimes the last thing you want to tell a three year old is that it’s okay to cry. Unfortunately they must find out on their own sometimes.

It’s okay to cry. It’s okay to be sad. You’re not always going to be happy, skipping for joy in the world.

Tears aren’t a sign of weakness as we’ve been conditioned to think. Tears are a sign of emotion; of love, grief, and strength.

Without love, there are no tears. There are no tears when someone’s passed on, because there is no love. There is no sadness when your child has grown up and left your home, because there is no love.

There are no tears without love. Love is what creates.

Through love one can create art, make music, create amazing pastries, and raise a child. These are amazing and beautiful acts that come from a place of love. You love art, so you create it. You love music, so you write it. You sing it. You love baking, so you bake. LOVE. LOVE is everything. It’s in nature, in the flowers and the trees, in the birds, in the wind.

Love is an amazing and unspeakable source of power and strength. Tap into it.

The one piece of advice that I will give, is that tears should always come from love. Never from self pity, or low self worth. Never. Don’t even entertain it.

Tears.

In your journal, write about the tears you’ve shed. Do they come from love? What do you cry about? Do you cry at all?

Myself, I’ve cried many a tear. But a while back, I decided that I won’t shed anymore tears over the mistakes of my past, or the hurt that someone caused me. There is nothing to do for those things, except move on, and bid them farewell. Let go.

The Craftaholic

