Inspiration Thursday

by thecraftaholic

(today marks a weekly series I’m going to be starting, with my writing, and some inspirational prompts and challenges.)

Quote:

“Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever.”

-Mahatma Ghandi

Who do you live as if your to die tomorow? Well think about it. What would you do if you were dying tomorow? What would you think of doing first? How would you live your day? Certainly I doubt you would be worrying about bills or rent or mortgage. You would be thinking about forgiving the person who hurt you, and spending time with those you love. You’d hopefully be thinking about making some art, and maybe writing something, a letter or something to your children.

So what’s stopping you from doing that now? Yes of course, we all have our responsibilities. We certainly all cannot just get up and live a life of nomads, as fun as that sounds (well at least it sounds fun to me). But you can stop obsessing over the little things in life.

Life is short, and before you know it, someone you love an be taken from you. So forgive. Love. Spend time, don’t waste it. Love in actions, not just in sappy romantic feelings. Personally, I would rather you love me in actions, then with fluffy words and empty roses and chocolates.

Love. Life. Forgive. Move on. These are things we all think of, when we think of the idea of dying suddenly. So what’s stopping you? You are your only obstacle.

So here’s a challenge for you: why don’t you write. Write. Yes. You can do it.

Make a book for yourself today. Even buy one at the dollar store. Get a cheap composition book, and decorate it to your heart’s content. Make it feel inspiring for you.

Now, you’re ready to write.

Here’s a prompt for you:

If I were to die tommorow, I would ______________________.

Then think about this, and answer these questions in your journal:

Why would I do the things aforementioned?

Who would I forgive?

Who needs my forgiveness?

Do I love myself?

How can I love myself more, in actions?

What does it mean to love someone in actions?

