Create-A Watercolor Journal

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“In the end, it’s not the years in your life that count. It’s the life in your years.”

-Abraham Lincoln

I keep telling people when they tell me they worry too much, that life is too short. There is so much focus on saving money for the future, and planning for the future, and living a healthy lifestyle, but not enough emphasis on how much joy and peace there is in your life.

I always go back to forgiveness and letting go. We store too many things within ourselves; we suppress things. Why are we so focused on the outside, and not on the inside?

We must look within ourselves and let go of the negativity. It doesn’t serve a purpose, at all. Let it go. Life will continue and pass you by, and all you will be left with is these useless feelings that only repel others from you.

I finished something I am truly proud of. I wanted to keep it for myself! This is for a swap, on craftster. I got flaked on by my original partner, and got assigned a new one, so I put some effort into it.

She said she wanted a combination of lined and unlined pages, so I gave her that.

This book has a spiral binding, for which I used my binditall machine.  I used fantasy fiber that I ironed and made into a fabric, to layer on the cover, with a vintage playing card, and typewriter letters by All Night Media, by Plaid Crafts.

This fairy is a rubber stamp, by All Night Media by Plaid Crafts.

Here, you can see how I made it lined for her. I was unsure as to what I should do for the other side of the watercolor pages, so I went ahead and glued lined paper to the blank side of the watercolor paper. This way, she’s got lined AND unlined pages in her journal. Nice, right?

I stamped quotes and images on the pages of watercolor paper, so they can serve as writing prompts for her. Plus, it’s nice looking.

Oh, I forgot to mention that I hand painted the watercolor paper. It’s easy! Squirt a nickel sized bit of watercolor into a spray bottle, then fill almost full with water, and shake. You can spray it on, then brush it with your brush, so that it makes more of an interesting look on the paper!

That’s all for now. I have a couple more small-ish swaps to work on and send out. And I got a sudden craving for Nutella. Yum.

The Craftaholic

