Day 362: What’s on my needles

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“Try to develop a deep conviction that the present human body has great potential and that you shall never waste a single minute of its use.”

-The Dalai Lama

Life is too short to waste time. Before you know it, your children will be all grown up, and will be out, applying to universities and looking for part time work.

It is for this reason, that I decided to stay home. Now, I believe in women’s equality and feminism and such. But I don’t think that there is anything wrong with my decision to stay home. I chose to stay home with my daughter because you children always come first, before your lifestyle, and before your own personal comfort. A lot of times, people choose their personal comfort over their children.

It’s sad, I think. I spoke to a woman on the train once who told me, “when I was on maternity leave I couldn’t wait to go back to work, because I was so bored. I couldn’t stay home!” That’s so sad, I think. I don’t stay home because I am this mid west farmer’s wife. In fact, I am a New York City feminist artist. I stay home because….life is short. Children grow quickly. I want to be close to my daughter. I don’t want to waste time working for someone else, donating half of my pay for her childcare. I’d rather care for her myself, and see her grow up.

Anyway, today I thought I’d show you what’s on my needles. It’s getting colder these days and so I started working on a lap blanket for my daughter when she is in her stroller.

Obviously, I have to block it. But yeah, this is going to be a stroller blanket for my daughter. Yes she likes her stroller. She’s three. She was going without for a while, and then decided that she wants to be in it ALL the time now. I started it last night, and figure that if I work at it steadily, I can be done by the time it really starts getting cold.

I am all caught up with my swaps! I am beside myself. I have a few to finish by the end of the month, and that will be fine. I did have to order more jewelry findings because most of the swaps I’m in are jewelry swaps. I’d like to make more of the jewelry with my same mixed media flavor, so that will be fun.  Maybe some puzzle piece earrings, or some domino earrings. I’d like to accumulate some more beer bottle caps, and make some earrings with that. We’ll see.

That’s all for today. I’m in a crabby mood this morning. I’m not sure why, I think I’m just feeling moody. It happens.

