Day 360: Vintage Inspired Collaged Notebook

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“Compassion, tolerance, and altruism bring us happiness and calmness.”

-The Dalai Lama

Compassion, tolerance and altruism.

What does Altruism mean? In the dictionary it’s defined as:

he principle or practice of unselfish concern for or devotionto the welfare of others ( opposed to egoism).

Oppposed to egoism. Egoism is when you think only and solely of yourself. But being altruistic is the opposite. In these modern times, we have become accustomed to thinking solely of ourselves, of our family and no one else. We think, “times are tough, and I must look out for myself”. But the opposite is true. If we were to come together more as a community, we could all evenly survive the economic and emotional hardships that present themselves.

Think of someone else for a change. Look out for other people. Do you know someone who just lost their job? Go to the store, and buy them some groceries. Offer to pay a utility bill. Having a hard time yourself? Bake something for someone. Nothing says love like home baked goodies.

Offer what you can. If you can sew, then offer that. If you can bake, then offer that. Look out for the people around you, not just yourself. I am a strong believer in Karma. Most of you know that I hold craft workshops throughout New York. Although I do (obviously) charge a fee for materials, time and instruction, I do let my students take a generous helping of papers and things. I’m pretty generous with my supplies, most of my students will tell you.

I think that it is because of this that I have been blessed to work with so many wonderful companies, such as DMC Threads, and Plaid Crafts. It’s wonderful to know that you won’t be running out of something. You know?

Today I am still lacking my camera. But I have a crappy photo of an altered composition notebook that I created for a swap.

The background is just pages from a trashy novel that my friend was getting rid of. Then the pretty paper is from a collage pack from Dick Blick. Finally, the images are from Alphastamps.

It’s easy to make something like this. With your glue stick, glue on the background and the decorative pics. Then, just go over it with Paper Mod Podge. That’s it! You can of course, do more to it. But I like a nice simple notebook, don’t you?

What else? Oh! I am going to see Fishbone tonite! I am SO excited! I’ve wanted to see them since before I met my husband and never have had the chance. They are playing at Webster Hall tonite.

Anything else? Not really. I just placed an order for some jewelry making supplies, because I’ve been on such a roll with this jewelry making thing, that I figured I should stock up on earring backs and such.

Once I’m all caught up with my swaps, I really do want to make some handmade soap. I’d like to make some Patchouli soap, that’d be nice.

The Craftaholic

