Day 353: Sea Glass Jewelry

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“It is usually said that you are your own master.”

-The Dalai Lama

What is it that you want?

If I have learned anything from the Dalai Lama, it is that we create our own destiny. You can have all the success you desire, if you deem yourself worthy.

I never thought myself worthy of success and happiness, until I realized that I cannot continue to pay for the mistakes of my parents. We cannot punish ourselves for the sins of others, for the sins of our past. We can only shift our eyes forward and pursue our dreams…one step at a time.

The other day, I had a workshop at my place. We made sea glass jewelry. Here’s a few shots.

Cool, right? We had lots of fun.

Here’s what I made today.

I bought a day planner at a discount store for about 2 dollars, then altered it. It’s easy! I used some turquoise acrylic paint by Plaid Crafts on some plain canvas that I cut out. I buy my canvas at Dick Blick for cheap.

Then, with black block printing ink and my lino block, I printed it! Cool, right? I brought it to a meeting that I had today. I didn’t want to show off a plain looking day planner, you know?

It’s really hot in NYC. I’m cheering myself up by getting into the Halloween spirit! Oh, and guess what? I was accepted into the Maker Faire in New York! Cool, right? I’ll be doing book binding and altered art jewelry demos and make n takes there.

The Craftaholic

