Day 336: TUTORIAL: A Romantic Rose

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“Every noble work is bound to face problems and obstacles.”

-The Dalai Lama

This is recycled, sorry about that. Today’s post is short and sweet, due to my busy schedule today. The point of this, I think, is to not let that hinder you from what YOU see as success. Whatever it is that you want to accomplish in life, make sure that it is for the greater good, and that you aren’t just being silly and greedy. While it’s nice to not have to worry about bills, we must always think globally. You know?

Today, I made a card. I actually have to make 10 of these, but that’s neither here nor there. Here’s the card, then I’ll tell you how I made it.

Anyways, the tutorial is simple.

I used the “Romantic Rose” stamp by Stampin’ Up that is now retired.

First, ink and stamp it like you normally would.

Color in the image, using watercolor pencils, and blend it, using your blender marker (also by Stampin’ Up). If you use the ones from the art supply store, they bleed through the paper, so it’s best for this project, to use the Stampin’ Up brand.

Then, you’ll need “Paper Mod Podge” and a foam brush. This stuff is great, because it won’t make the paper warp at all!

Go over the tips of the rose with the Mod Podge, then sprinkle some Martha Stewart glitter in the color crystal.

Let it dry, then go over it LIGHTLY with some Mod Podge Dimensional Magic. This will accent the glitter, and make the card more interesting!

Then, go over the edges with a Red Pigment ink pad.

That’s all folks!

Although I did post it on my wall, here’s a shot of some goodies I received yesterday from the folks at Plaid Crafts!

Nice, right?

I am SO excited for all the projects I have in mind. I am thinking that I’d like to make a new shrine. I haven’t made one in months. Maybe this will render me a trip to Midtown Manhattan, where I find all sorts of fun little shops and things. As long as I stay away from Ebay, I’m good to go. Ebay is my crack. Seriously.

So I hope you like my little tutorial!

Oh, another note: if you print this on a more yellowish white paper, it could look more “antique”.

I have a full day ahead of me, but I my mind is going a mile a minute thinking of all the projects I could be making with my new paints and gloss mediums (that’s what mod podge is called in the “art” world).

That’s all for now. Since I’ll be in manhattan, I have an idea for some earrings I want to make, so if my knees don’t kill me, maybe I’ll make a pit stop in midtown and buy some jewelry findings I’ll need.

The Craftaholic

