Day 335: Up to my Eyeballs in Eyeshadow!

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“Whether one believes in a religion or not, or believes in rebirth or not, there isn’t anyone who doesn’t appreciate kindness and compassion.”

-The Dalai Lama

Kindness should be unconditional, I think. If I show kindness and compassion, THAT should be my repayment. Don’t you think?

Also, it would be so wonderful if we could all go beyond the limits of our religious beliefs, and just be a people. That would be nice. I just mean that it should be okay that I believe one thing and you believe another. We should still be able to be friends. This is not always the case, because I think that people are afraid of exposing themselves to diversity. But diversity is a GOOD thing. If we all were the same, the world would be boring, we wouldn’t have art, we wouldn’t have inventions…we wouldn’t be able to, because we would all be the same. Diversity is why we have different types of doctors, and artists like Picasso and Basquiat. Diversity is why we have the world we live in. It’s all around you. It’s in your garden of different types of flowers and herbs and vegetables. It’s in your children. Unless you have sextuplets, I doubt that all your children look identical. Even identical twins have differences. We all do.

There are different types of art, different art mediums, and approaches to creativity, and this is a GOOD thing. Not everyone can make the same type of scrapbook, painting, card, or block print. But this is good. Perhaps if we all realized this, we could have more peace within us, and more love within the art and craft community, rather than competition, and copying.

Today, I did work for a client. I have a client who wants me to make mineral eye shadow for her 15 friends, for a bachlorette party. I am prepping it now, so that I have time to figure out the packaging, and such. I have to make 2 for each girl, customized to her facial features. That is hard work when you’re not a cosmetologist! But I am an artist, so I know how to work with colors, obviously.

Here’s what I made:

I have a bag FULL of little pots of eyeshadow, packed in little baggies, labeled with their names on each baggie. Each girl gets a unique two sets of eyeshadows. So I’m up to my eyeballs in eyeshadows!

What else? Oh, I decorated a matchbox for a swap I am in. Here’s a picture of that.

Her profile said that she liked vintage things, so this is a matchbox filled with vintage and vintage themed paper goods.

I’m working today on another set of cards ordered by a friend. This should be a pretty set, I’m putting a lot into it. You’ll see them later. You know that I love simplicity, and this set is simple, but really pretty, too. I’m using a retired stampin up stamp for it. I’ll post a tute for it, perhaps.

What else? I went to the Met yesterday to check out their Picasso exhibit. He was a great printmaker! Cool, right? I love that because I’ve recently gotten into printmaking. I love block printing a lot. Here’s a few pics of my favorites.

The pictures are crappy, because it was C R O W D E D. Very crowded. So since I’m short, I had to go where I could, to take the shots.

One word of advice, from a New Yorker and a museum goer: never stand directly in front of artwork. It’s just something you’re not supposed to do. Another word of advice: please walk on your right! Please!

What else? That’s it.

I’m going to visit my cousin today. She works in a lab, and she’s giving me microscope slides! yay! And, I want to the art supply store, because I need more linoleum, and block printing ink.

The Craftaholic

