Day 332: Turquoise Leaf Earrings

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“Yet true happiness comes from a sense of peace and contentment, which in turn must be achieved through the cultivation of altruism, of love and compassion, and elimination of ignorance, selfishness, and greed.”

-The Dalai Lama

Contentment and peace are the two things we seek in life. But then we also pursue greed and self gratification, which we think are the same things. But they aren’t, are they? In order to truly be content and at peace, we must eliminate selfishness. Greed. and Ignorance.

Although I consider myself not religious AT ALL, I will quote something from the bible, that much sticks out in my head.

It’s from Hosea 4:6

“My people are destroyed for lack of knowledge.”

Hmm. It’s true. Ignorance breeds greed and greed breeds self gratification and selfishness. It is this, that we must eliminate from our life. It doesn’t mean you have to become a buddhist monk and live in tibet. But certainly thinking outside of yourself does help.

Anyway, today I made a pair of earrings for a swap I’m in.

Do you like them? I decided to be naughty and not give them to my mom, since she annoyed me this morning. Well, not really. I need them for the swap. And I got lazy to make another pair. But she did annoy me this morning. I guess she wouldn’t be my mother if she wasn’t bothering me somehow. Right?

Oh! Yesterday we went to Coney Island. We live about three stops away on the subway from Coney Island.

My mother bought the bathing suit. I call it “the Pentecostal bathing suit” because really…have you ever seen that much fabric on a bathing suit?

She loves playing in the sand. We all got home sandy, and smelling of sunblock and sea water.

What else? Not much. I’m looking forward to a very boring and uneventful week this week, as my joints are starting to act up. It’s horrible, the pain. I stand for about 5 minutes and I’m in pain again, and dead tired. I told my husband, my body feels like that of an old woman. Arg. I tried eating better and such, but it doesn’t help that much. So, begrudgingly, I must go to the doctor. I hate doctors. And hospitals. Ugh. Anyway, I’ve got to find a doctor this week.

I have a lot of swaps, so I’ll be working on those this week.

