Day 324: A Day at Governor’s Island

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“If a person has a calm and stable mind, this influences his/her attitude and behavior in relation to others.”

-The Dalai Lama

This is recycled. Sorry.

This is of course, easier said than done.

I can pretend

I can pretend to be a tree

and not constantly waiver

with the wind and rain

I can

root myself in

holy things

and not waiver and uproot myself

whenever the universe hands me a

very cliched lemon

in life

But I’ve

struggled all my life

I

always had to have faith

in something

now, my body feels old

and my heart is weak

and when the rain falls

and the wind blows

I’ve my beloved to keep me

and my roots to hold me

like the tree

planted.

it moves

but never

uproots.

We went to Governor’s Island! We had so much fun! Here’s some shots.

On our way there. It was baby’s first boat trip! And the ferry is free! If you’re a tourist, I highly reccomend visiting Governor’s Island. It’s so pretty, and such a nice little getaway. And it’s old, and has cool old buildings that are (perhaps) haunted! We love that!

There she is, looking at the water, watching the boat pass along the Hudson River.

Once we got there…..she just wanted to run, and play…

…pick some flowers….

walk around the town….

and then I had to take a corny picture of myself. Of course.

We had so much fun! Today’s craftiness consists of organizing my art supplies. They are a shambles! Truly! Yarn in bags and purses, paint scattered in boxes and bins, and and bits of glitter everywhere.

And it’s raining, yay! And I made a gingerbread cake today! Yay! You know what? I replaced the egg with Apple Butter and the cake came out so delish! It’s vegan! And actually cakes are best when they are made vegan, because they end up more moist. So good. I made it because my daughter had been asking for gingerbread cake for a while, and I didn’t feel like running to the store to make any other type of dessert, so I just used up all my molasses and made a cake. It was so good.

The Craftaholic

