Day 322: An Embroidered Hamsa Talisman

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“In other words, if someone remains in a peaceful and tranquil state of mind, external surroundings can cause them limited disturbance.”

-The Dalai Lama

A verse for the the man I see, frenzied and hurried:

I wish you peace

and when I see you speak loudly on your expensive telephone

I wish you peace

I

wish you peace when you worry about everything

when you worry about things that are

out of your control

because you see,

peace comes not from a happy situation

but in your ability to be

centered

even through the storm

like the trees

they move

they waiver

but they stay

rooted.

Even if their branches break

they stay

rooted

So, my frienzied friend,

stay rooted

in whatever it is you believe in

and if you believe in nothing

start believing

in something

because life is bigger

and grander

and better

than we could ever imagine

with our human senses and our

small brains

Today, I did some embroidery work. I actually really love doing embroidery. It’s so much fun, and so easy for me!

I made an embroidered Hamsa talisman. Click here to find out what a hamsa is. Anyway, here it is:

Do you like it?

I used DMC Thread Colors: 930, 3722 and 932. The pendant in the middle is a millifiore pendant from Fire Mountain Gems.

I did post a template for the hamsa, to my scribd account, and here it is. You’ll excuse the raw sharpie drawing.

What else? Oh, here’s a couple cheesy pictures of my daughter dancing. This time we were dancing to Lou Reed’s “Walk on the Wild Side”. What a good song.

Yes, she has no pants on. It’s better that way.

Here’s one in action.

haha, she’s so funny. The TV was on, and she insisted on leaving it on, tho I did mute it so we can hear Mr. Lou Reed properly.

I hope you liked my thing for today!

The Craftaholic

