Day 312: A Recipe Box, made over

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“If objects and people evoke attachment in us, we do not understand the true nature of phenomena.”

-The Dalai Lama

The one thing that Buddhism and Christianity have in common is the idea that one must detach themselves from the idea of “worldy goods”, in order to achieve a higher state of spirituality.

Here, the Dalai Lama is telling us that we must understand life, in order to not be so “attached” to it. This means that I understand that life is short. I understand that as quickly as we attain things, we may also lose them. That is the way things are.

Life on planet earth should not be about how quickly we can obtain things, but should be centered on our goodness, and our desire to be better human beings.

Today, I made a recipe box. Sort of. I gave it a make over. I did forget to photograph it before. Sorry about that. But here it is after:

I used Mod Podge to paste pages from a vintage french dictionary, and then went over it with ink and the Tim Holtz alcohol applicator thingie.

Then, I pasted some pics by Graphic 45.

Like it?

I am really grateful to these swaps lately, as I feel like they are getting me on roll creatively! I highly reccomend joining swaps, if you are ever in a creative rut.

Speaking of which, I created a fun group on Swap-Bot. It’s for book binding! For those of you who love making your own journals or scrapbooks.

Join it!

Other than that, there is not much to report. My lady parts have not been aching so much, and at least now I know what’s the matter. Have to call the doctor, for test results.

The Craftaholic

