Day 309: A Butterfly Necklace

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“In other words, if someone remains in a peaceful and tranquil state of mind, external surroundings can cause them limited disturbance.”

-The Dalai Lama

Oh, wouldn’t this be a dream? To not be bothered or waivered by the world around you, but to just remain at peace within yourself? Oh. Wow.

It’s difficult for me to think of this as a possibility, especially living in New York City, one of the biggest and busiest cities in the world. But I look at the Trees as examples. The don’t waiver because they are grounded in who they are.  So in the same sense, if we ground ourselves in our peace, in our art, in our family, perhaps we won’t be so bothered or waivered by the business around us.

Today, I finished a necklace for a “butterfly” swap that I’m in. My partner is my good friend Yoshi, who is AMAZING at jewelry making. I mean it. She doesn’t have a blog or shop, or I’d link her. But here’s what I made for her:

Don’t you love it? I do. I’m going to make a necklace for myself tonite too.

I have to run now. Baby wants to go out to the playground, and hubby is off today. So it’s family time.
The Craftaholic

