Day 296: Cupcake Cards

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“To renounce the world means to give up your attachment to it. It does not mean that you have to separate yourself from it.”

-The Dalai Lama

Growing up in the pentecostal church, I heard about this quite a bit. The christian faith teaches renouncing the temptations of the flesh, in order to gain a higher spiritual perspective.  The Buddhist faith teaches the same thing. Perhaps this is because the Buddha came 500 years before Jesus did. Who knows.

You can of course, do this in any faith. Or no faith (whatever your pleasure, really). Giving up your attachment to worldly goods, just means you won’t be dissapointed when you realize you must take public transportation, or that you’re going to live in your shitty apartment a little while longer. It means appreciating that you have a job, rather than hate that you aren’t doing what you love full time. Appreciate what you have. And stop putting yourself and your being into the things you own. You can’t take them with you, when you pass away. You only bring yourself.

Today was a quick craft project, because my little one wants us to go to chinatown. So I made a set of cards. I am actually working on some cards, for a portfolio for my my Craftivity Parties. One thing I offer, is a set of handmade cards. So I figured it’d be nice to have a selection for the person to choose from. So I’m working on that.

Here’s the cards I made today:

Nice, right?

Well, I must go now. Off to chinatown!

The Craftaholic

