Day 294: Embroidered Matroyshka Doll

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“It is wrong to expect some final satisfaction to come from money or from a computer.”

-The Dalai Lama

But we do, don’t we? We expect things. Expectations are what lead to disappointment, especially when it comes to money. I never worry about money, not because I have a lot (because I don’t). I never worry about money because the truth is, it goes as easily as it comes.

It’s wrong to think that your life will be better with money. Life is better when you make it better. It’s not about money, it’s about your attitude toward life, and how you see your future, and what you do with your life.

Today, I did a bit of embroidery work. I of course, used DMC threads.

You like it?

This doll is for a workshop I’m teaching at Sacred Vibes Apothecary in Brooklyn, NY.

You can call them to sign up for it: (718) 284-2890.

This is a “passion” doll. She embodies everything that I am passionate about. The colors are symbolic, and she’s stuffed with herbs, money, and beads.

The beads represent my art, the herbs represent different things (depending on the herb), and the money represents my desire to allow my passions to “pay my rent” so to speak.

Anyhow, that’s what this doll is.

The doll has one eye, which is “The evil eye”. The evil eye is an old superstitious symbol that supposedly protects from bad vibes. I struggled with the eyes, so I just gave her this.

Yesterday, my little one and I went to the park.

It was hot, but fun.

Today, we’re going to manhattan. I never dropped of the samples for that class, so I’m doing that today. But I’m going to be frugal and pack my own lunch. It’s more eco friendly that way, right? Then I can buy some ice cream.

Oh! The peanut butter pie was made and devoured.

Here’s a link to a good recipe for it.

The Craftaholic

