Day 275: An Altered Journal

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“Compassion is compulsory for everyone to practice, and if I were a dictator I would dictate to everyone to do so.” -The Dalai Lama

Compassion is SO important. Why? Because it spreads. It’s contagious. Start it. Make it happen, start today, and it will catch on with others. Just don’t do it expecting people to be nice to you all the time. That never works. Just spread compassion.

Today, my parents came to visit, which is why my post is so late in the day.

I did find a LITTLE time to get crafty.

I had a journal that I got from a swap recently, but I wanted to make it mine. You know? It didn’t really say anything to me. So, I covered it in pretty paper, and here’s what I ended up with:

You like?

The bird cage is *I think* from a stack of Amy Butler papers that I bought on etsy. I love to buy mini stacks of papers from etsy because they are so cheap, and it’s a nice way to preview a stack to see if you like it.

It’s easy to do this, actually. All you do, is cut the paper to size, and glue the sucker on to your journal. Then, add an embellishment if you want. I actually added an inside pocket, because I have the habit of storing little papers and things inside my journals.

I got a mani/pedi today with my mom. THAT was awesome. I now am sporting pink glittery nail polish on my hands and feet. Love, I tell you.

What else? OH! I finished my zine today! I am so excited.

Here’s the link. I do hope you’ll support my efforts and purchase a copy. You can preview it online, but ordering it means you’ll get a hard copy in the mail. Cool, right?

I’m not sure if the next issue will come out in July or August. But it will be focused on Fiber Arts.

That’s all for now.

The Craftaholic

