Day 268: Dwell Banner and a Silly Dance with my Daughter

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“Rather than speaking badly about people, we should practice a purer perception of them and speak only of their good qualities.” -The Dalai Lama

Gossip is referred to by most religions as evil. Why do you think this is? Think about it. So many relationships have been severed simply because of gossip and ill speaking of others. It’s addictive though, isn’t it? It’s so easy to just start bitching to your friend about how so and so did something that bothered you. Then you start talking about how stuck up she is, or how annoying her kid is. Right? It’s easy. It makes you feel good to talk about someone when they annoy you or make you angry. It’s harder to let peace into your life in these situations. Because you don’t really want peace. You want to  be angry with them, because in some way, you think you are punishing them. But you are only punishing yourself.

It doesn’t matter how ill you speak of someone, they are still going to live their life. It’s like I always say: no one really cares. Life keeps going and going. And if you don’t stop to let in the peace to your life, it will pass you by. Stop talking about people. Try to see the good in others. I know it’s hard to do this, especially when people continue being asses. But they are not the important thing in your life. What is important? You. Your family, your life, your home, your future.

I made a banner for my home.

These are chipboard cut outs I got from a swap (I think). I glued vintage music sheets to it, glued some pretty flowers, and the letters to spell out, “Dwell”. I also glittered the edges with pink Martha Stewart glitter.

Here’s a close up:

Here’s what it looks like, against my record collection:

I didn’t even bother cropping the picture, sorry.

I love love love this banner! I put mini clothing line clips on the back, so if I want to, I could just clip them anywhere. Here, they are on a pretty ribbon, again from a swap.

The nice thing about being broke is that you end up really using what you’ve got.

What else? Oh, me and the baby randomly broke into dance. My daughter loves dancing, and loves dance music. Don’t ask where she got this, cuz she didn’t get it from me. I love old jazz and classic punk. But ohwell.

Cute, right? Can you guess what she was dancing to? Lady Gaga. YES. Can you believe the the child of two bohemian artists likes Lady Gaga? Oh man. What am I going to do? I just indulge it, really.

She loves to dance, dude. I uploaded a video of it on youtube, but it needs to be rotated, and I don’t know how to do that.

Here’s the link though, if you don’t mind tilting your head.

The Craftaholic

