Day 265: A Pretty Little Bird

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“Cultivating a close, warmhearted feeling for others automatically puts the mind at ease.” -The Dalai Lama

Let me translate for you: don’t get annoyed so easily at people. Okay? Ease up.

I know that living in a fast paced city like New York, it is easy to just get annoyed and want to, frankly, punch someone in the face. hard. as hard as you can manage.

It’s not because New York is a terrible place. It’s because there are so many people living here in close quarters, that a person is bound to get you annoyed. I think it’s like I said. We must respond to life in peace. Respond to the world around you with peace and understanding, so that you will get that in return.

Lately, I feel like I have been repeating myself. I realized though, that the common denominator in most of what the Dalai Lama and the Buddha spoke about, is about how you respond to the world around you. Everything in life comes down to how you respond to life.

Instead of getting annoyed, I can respond to a person in love. Then, at least I will have a good feeling instead of a feeling of being annoyed and cranky. You know?

Today, I finished my bird house! Yea!

At first, I tried to make it with an old shoe box I was saving. But no, that didn’t work. Instead, I used a crafty chica wood frame box that I had.

What do you think?

Here’s a close up:

I was thinking of something Maya Angelou said, “The caged bird doesn’t sing because he’s happy, he sings because he has a song”. But this little box is a happy one, not a sad one. There are no bars, so the bird is free. The sun shines over him. The sun is a retired stampin up stamp, on yellow cardstock. The bird and moss is from the dollar store. Buttons are from a collection. The Glue is Aleen’s Craft glue, and the box is from the Crafty Chica collection of craft supplies. Then of course, there is the cheapo glitter, and the acrylic turquoise paint.

The thought bubble is hand cut from a vintage music booklet. What do you think? You like it?

I love this.

Not much else to report except that it is hot as heck out there today. I’m staying inside where my fan and some ice cream will comfort me.  Also, here’s a word of advice: never call your customer a liar. It’s just not good business practice. You know?

The Craftaholic

