Day 264: A Walk Through the Neighborhood

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“If the mind is tranquil and occupied with positive thoughts, the body will not easily fall prey to disease.” -The Dalai Lama

The Buddha talked often about removing the clutter from your life. The ego and teh things that  stand between you and your creative dreams. We all have them. The thing that I have learned is that we place them on ourselves. What are YOUR obstacles? What are the things that get in the way of your dreams?

I’m not talking about things like kids, dogs, cars and spouses. Those are responsibilities. We all have those. It is though, important that you realize the difference between your responsibilities and your obstacles. They are in fact, not one and the same.

Obstacles. This is what I think the Dalai Lama was talking about. Those things in your head that you worry about are what keep you from creating your future, and keep you stuck in the past. Get your mind out of the worry.

There is in life, always something that you could be worrying about. But don’t. If you believe in god, pray. If not, meditate. That’s what I do. It helps. But with it, act. Do. Be. Say. Don’t just think it in your brain. Everything happens for a reason, believe this. Everything happens for a reason. So, think about that. Instead of complaining that you can’t find a job, do something about it. Make your dreams happen. Make your life happen. Maybe this way, you’ll find that the life you wanted, was just around the corner. And all you needed, was to lose your job. Or, not find one.

Today, I did a lot of things. I took a walk with my little one and my “big one” as sick as that sounds.

Yes, I live in Brooklyn. A neighbor of ours has these growing in her front yard. Beautiful, right? Then, my daughter and husband saw a honey bee, pollinating some flowers.

Beautiful.

What else? I got started on my little bird house, but I can’t show you pics yet. And, I made a scrapbook. And I started a new knitting project.

This is a summer themed mini scrapbook.  I know I’ve been making a lot of them, but they are my favorite thing to make these days. That, and knitting. But, as I said before, I’m also working on a new bird house. So much fun, I should be done with it soon.

What else? Not much. Happy Memorial day (tomorrow) to my fellow americans! Even though we don’t all agree with the goverment tactics, it’s still a nice idea to honor the people who serve. You know? I mean, some people are bullies, but not everyone is.

The Craftaholic

