Day 248: More Art, Less Craft

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“Ambition is like love, impatient both of delays and rivals.” -The Buddha

So true, so true. It’s good to have goals and  dreams. In fact, I think it’s essential to our human and spiritual growth. You know? We must have something to aim for, if we wish to get a head. If not, we will end up sticking ourselves in the muck and mire of everyday life.

Today I went to manhattan to drop off some samples for a class I am teaching at the Ink Pad (yes, I am uber excited). I realized that New York is such an amazing place. I saw a man playing a trumpet, a preacher on the street corner, a woman who calls the F train her home, and lots and lots of stores and occasional tourists. It’s cool. New York is a skeptic’s city. It’s a place that is fast paced, and constantly moving. Everything is ALWAYS moving here. Always. It’s part of living here, accepting this truth.

Impatience will not get you anywhere here in New York, or in life. It doesn’t matter how much you bitch about the N train being late, no one is listening and frankly, no one really cares. Or rather, everyone else has their own things to worry about. It’s like life. It doesn’t matter how much you bitch about your goals not coming to fruition, it won’t help to complain. It’s best to work at your goals little by little, always putting one foot in front of the other. Always move ahead, move forward, working actively at your goals. That is the way to prosperity, not bitching and complaining.

Today, I made some art. Real art.

So, what do you think? I feel quite vulnerable putting my artwork up here. But I hope you like it. I’m working on a baby book for a client. It’s a custom made hand bound baby book with Embroidery work on the cover.

Also working on some samples for a class. I have to work on my embroidery sampler. Actually, I wanted to start over but I don’t know if there’s a time line. I should check.

The Craftaholic

