Day 244: Butterfly Mother’s Day Card

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“Those who are free of resentful thoughts surely find peace.” -The Buddha

Mother’s day brings up issues for some people. My husband says, “women always find something wrong with their mothers”. Maybe he’s right. I don’t know. But we aren’t perfect, I do know that. Resentment comes from a place of non-forgiveness, of not moving on. It comes from dwelling on something. Dwelling on the negative, on the thing you didn’t have, or can’t have.

The truth is, I could go on and on, giving stories and explanations, but the truth is this: move on. Just fucking move on. The reality is that who ever or whatever you are sore about, is not crying over you and your situation, and life does not stand still. One day, you’ll look in the mirror and find and old lonely person, instead of an amazing healed person, who only has grays due to parenthood and the occasional bad customer service person. So just do it. Move on. Grow up. Forgive. Heal. Do it. If you believe in god, then pray. If not, I don’t know. Tell the universe to help you.

Mother’s aren’t perfect. It doesn’t help, that there are endless websites telling us how long we should breastfeed, how many hours we should hold our children each day, and puts out a good amount of guilt trips into a new mom who may not have all the answers. If you are expecting your first child, the best advice I can give you is to not listen to any advice.

Today, I made a card for my mother in law.

Lovely, isn’t it? I used cardstock from Papertrey Ink, Blossoms& Butterflies paper from DCWV, Ribbon Flowers by Maya Road, and vintage butterflies, from my collage kits, on etsy.  I also used a bit of moss from a roll that roll I got at the Dollar Store.

Well, happy mother’s day. I have to make something for my mom and mail it out to her.

The Craftaholic

