Day 242: My Knitting Group

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“Peace comes from within. Do not seek it without.” -The Buddha

Peace comes from within. So why do we always seek peace outside of ourselves? When you seek peace, seek within. When you want love, look within. Find the universe within yourself, not outside of yourself.

Today, I went to my knitting group, for the first time in about a year. My husband had the day off, so I happened to be able to go. I was elated. For reals. Elated.

I love my knitting group. I love that it can be a year of me not going, and I can just chime right into the conversation, as if no time has passed. That’s what friendship is about, isn’t it? Not having to worry about impressing someone, or having to keep up appearances. Just being you, and knowing that no matter how much time passes, you can always pick up where you left off. Just like knitting. Just like art.

I am currently making a simple knitted shawl to wrap around myself in the summer when my husband blasts the AC and freeze my ass off when we watch TV at night. My husband sweats while I freeze, so I’m going to make a nice wrap for myself.

The Craftaholic

