Day 240: Make an Embroidered Card

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“It is better to conquer yourself than to win a thousand battles. Then the victory is yours. It cannot be taken from you, not by angels or by demons, heaven or hell.” -The Buddha

Woah, man. Seriously, what does it mean to conquer yourself? If I think of conquering myself, I think of my “wrongdoings” or things I’d like to fix. You know? Like my being a spender instead of a saver, or my messy tendencies. Or my slight bossiness. You know? I’m talking about those things that just get in the way of you being….a better you. You know?

It is a HARD, HARD job. It is so difficult to conquer yourself. Maybe it would be easier if I lived in the hills of Montezuma, just me and my art supplies and an electric outlet. Right? Then it would be so easy to just conquer yourself. But not really. You are still you, no matter how far you run away. You are still going to hear the doubt unless you kill that voice, and you will still be tempted to overspend, no matter how far away you are, unless you work through the reason behind the overspending.

I have no answers. What I do know is that we can remove the excess garbage from our lives, if we do want to get to the road of self discovery, to the road of conquering your self.

Today, I have a fun and free pattern, for a cool embroidered card I made! Embroidering is so much fun with DMC Threads and some great cardstock from Papertrey ink. And it’s easy peasy! Here’s the pattern:

And here’s what I did with it:

You like it? Oh, this is just the beginning. I am working on another one at the moment.  Embroidering on paper is really not that much different than embroidering on fabric, really.

I love love love this so much! It was so much fun!

