Day 235: A No Sew Fabric Headband & Pumpkin Muffins

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“To conquer oneself is a greater task than conquering others” -The Buddha

Again, I’m posting this as a lesson to myself. It’s funny that I talked about doubting yourself, and today that is what is trying to creep in. The biggest hurdle in life, is the hurdles you put in front, yourself. Conquering oneself is so hard. Because we doubt too much. We don’t try, we just melt. And give in. Right?

Conquering yourself, means to me, that you conquer your inner battel, that part of you that battles between saving and spending, or whatever your bad habit is. We all have something. But the key to conquering yourself, is going at it, little by little and not giving up. For me, buying art supplies is a major habit. I always love to try new things, and what better way to feel inspired, than with some new shiny art supplies, right?

I am trying now, to find creativity in the little things. It actually has inspired me to write a book.

So today, I made a simple project. Very simple. I’ve been really tired lately, so today was lacking in motivation, due to my lack of energy.

I made a fun little no sew headband. I also made some pumpkin muffins today, they are so delish. I was inspired by one of my daughter’s favorite cartoons, Maggie Beast. One of the characters is a little big who loves to cook. That’s me. So he is always making pumpkin muffins because the ferocious beast loves them. And he’s right, they are delish. Really.

So here’s the headband I made:

Is the picture alright? I tried. I wish I had full makeup and someone to photograph me with it, but not today. Maybe this weekend, since it’s supposed to be hot out this weekend.

To make this, all you need is fabric glue, a plain headband, and some fabric, of course. Simply wrap the fabric around the headband, and glue it. That’s all! I used my little styrofoam head to place it on, while the glue was drying.

Oh, and here’s the muffins I made:

I’m telling you, they are awesome.

Here’s the recipe:

Pumpkin Muffins

mix together:

8 oz. canned pumpkin

1 egg

then add:

almost 1 cup of sugar

mix and add

1/3 cup of oil

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon baking powder

mix, blend and add in

1 3/4 cup of flour

I added a few tablespoons of apple juice by mistake. But you can repeat my mistake if you wish.

1/4 cup of powdered vanilla non dairy coffee creamer. yes, really.

Then, pour the mix into baking cups into your muffin tin, and bake at 350 until they are golden brown.

And voila. C’est fini.

The Craftaholic

