Day 234: Book Review-Waking Up in the Land of Glitter

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“Do not dwell in the past, do not dream of the future, concentrate the mind on the present moment.”

I’m posting this quote because too often I am scatter brained. I have been, of course, informed by my dear husband that I am indeed, scatter brained. When you are a “multi-crafter” like I am, it is hard to focus on one thing. I really am a multi-crafter. I love many things. I mostly like to sew, knit, crochet, and do all things that involve paper. So that covers quite a lot. Focus. It’s hard to focus on the present day, isn’t it?

My husband, like most earth signs (in the astrological signs, he’s a taurus, which is the earth element, along with Capricorns and Virgos), he worries about the future. I always tell people we are a match made in heaven because I worry about the past, and he worries about the future! haha!

But it’s true. We must focus ourselves on what we are doing now, not what we will be doing someday. You’ve got goals and dreams and wishes? Fine. But what are you doing about them NOW? Right now, do something. Start. At least do that. At least start.

So yesterday, my good friend Becca Bluebird sent me her copy of The Crafty Chica’s new book, “Waking Up In the Land of Glitter“.  I have to tell you that I normally am really bad at reading books all the way through. I sort of have ADD a bit. You know?

Anyway, I really liked this book! In fact, I started reading it this morning, and finished it time to pass it along to another crafty friend of mine! I really liked it! Although the book is not going to help you challenge the meaning of life, it does capture your interest, especially if you are crafter, like me. It gets you interested in all the characters, and makes you think that perhaps there is a way that anyone can “get their thing” and make a positive change in the world, with the things that come naturally to you.

I really think that you should buy this book! It’s a fun way to make the bus, plane or train ride go quicker! And it is an inspiring read. I actually wanted to make a blanket like the one mentioned in the book. But then, I am easily inspired, and quite the “multi-crafter”.

In other news, a friend is organizing a mini art exhibit, and my art will be there! Cool, right? I decided I want to make something new for the exhibit, so I’ll be showcasing a cool birdcage I got a long time ago, along with some fibers from DMC Threads. It’s going to be fabulous, you’ll see.

The Craftaholic

