Day 227: Book-Mixed Media Doll houses by Tally Oliveau & Julie Molina

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“Ambition is like love, impatient both of delays and rivals.” -The Buddha

We are an impatient lot, are we not? As artists, we get so caught up in the frenzy of wanting to make it, wanting to make art for a living, that we sometimes get impatient.

Impatience. It’s such an annoying feeling, right? But if we think about the story of the Tortoise and the Hare, we can learn something: that slow and steady wins the race. We don’t need to be in a rush. This is what I tell my husband all the time. Sucess will come. The dreams will be reached. It doesn’t matter how long it takes, what matters is that you put on foot in front of the other, and try. And do it. Keep going, keep working, keep reaching. And then, you’ll see that you will win over the Hare.

Today, I went to Barnes and Noble with my little one, and looked through the craft books. I have to be honest, I am usually quite disappointed in the selection of books out there. All the books I see either copy of of each other, or copy off of the internet craft tutorials and postings seen online. Very few books actually get my attention any more, as most of them have projects that make me wonder why I would do that. There was a “printmaking” book on making your own stamps, and in one section, the lady suggests using paper clips to print. Now, number one, how the heck do you do that without getting paint all over your hands, and number two…paper clips? Really? Give me something that challenges me, you know?

So I was very excited to find the book, “Mixed Media Dollhouses” by Tally Oliveau and Julie Molina. OMG. This is a book that takes your collage and mixed media to the next level. What the artists do, is show you how to take cigar boxes, and turn them into dollhouses. Taking two three or four boxes, each of them making a room. She gives you techniques and ideas, not just a laundry list of supplies that you will have to scour the internet for. That’s what’s cool. I can’t wait to start making my own dollhouse! I will probably use shoe boxes since here in New York City, the dumb ass cigar shops want to charge you up to $15 for a box. Can you believe that crap? When they tell me that I just want to punch them. Opportunistic jerks.

Anyhow, the other nice thing is that the ideas showcased are not just in one style. There are vintage dolls, Sea and mermaids, gothic, circus, and other themed houses. This is nice, because it lends for ALL types of people to find their own sort of inspiration, and make a statement that is all their own. Few books do this, and more of them should. I love it when I can pick up a craft book, and draw from it what my personal style is, and that is what this book does. From making furniture, to assembling, and making paper dolls, this book gives you the tools you need to start creating your own beautiful doll houses. This book is definitely worth the money, and I highly reccomend you run out and buy it right now.

To see more of the author’s work, you can visit their websites:

Tally Oliveau-Papier Studio

Julia Molina- Mad Hat Studio

The Craftaholic

