Day 212: A Pretty Little Bird

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“A mind that is characterized by unrest will not be tranquil even in the presence of great calm.”

This is a recycled one. But I love it.

The thing is, we must remove the things in our lives that create unhappiness in our life. Think about the things that create friction in your life, and remove them. Delete them from your life. You don’t need more stress, life is hard enough as it is.

Today’s craft endeavor is a fun art piece. I was in a light sort of mood, so here’s what I made.

It’s a bird in a cage. I used some wire and DMC brand Embroidery thread, for the cage part. Foil glitter around the edges, and the crocheted garland in the nest. Cool, right? Ā I got the bird and the nest from Tinsel Trading.

There’s a tutorial that I posted for DMC for this project. So I’ll let you know when it’s up on their site. I actually made this for the Art Opera that Lisa Kettell is hosting.

What else? Oh! As promised, below is the recipe for the cake I made the other day.

Dark Chocolate Cake with Hazelnuts & Chocolate Ganache Frosting

for the cake:

mix together

1/2 c vegetable oil

2 tsp. vanilla extract

2 eggs

2 c sugar

then stir in:

1 1/2 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. salt

1 1/2 tsp. baking powder

3/4 c Hershey’s Dark Cocoa Powder

1 c milk (or actually, you can use some flavored non dairy creamer)

1 3/4 cake flour

1 c boiling water

Pour into a pair of greased and floured round baking pans, and bake at 350 for about 30 minutes, or until your fork comes out clean.

For the Chocolate Ganache:

I should mention that I don’t use a recipe at all. I actually eyeball it. But here’s a recipe for you, if you click here.

You can use the hazelnuts in between the two layers, and as garnish on the sides.

What do you think?

The Craftaholic

