Day 206: An Owl named Harold

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“The greatest obstacles to inner peace are disturbing emotions such as anger, attachment, fear and suspicion, while love and compassion and a sense of universal responsibility are the sources of peace and happiness.”

Again, as I said a few days ago: we are our own worst enemy. I am now over 200 days into my quest for Nirvana through art. I’ve learned some things about myself. I’ve also grown artistically, I think. Practice makes perfect, they say.

Often times when I take the Dalai Lama’s quote, I have to apply it personally to my life. I mean, that is what I always do. But sometimes it comes from a deep place in my life. Today is no different. This quote speaks to me, from my personal experience in my past.

I realize that I think we focus so much on the past, on past hurts, and on people who have wronged us, that it clouds our mind, as when we get drunk or high on drugs and alcohol. Think about it. Your mind gets so full of these emotions….you almost forget who you are, who you truly are, because you are so intoxicated with anger and resentment. You lose yourself. You lose your identity. It’s sad, to wake up and realize you wasted your life feeding anger and resentment. I grew up being taught to not entertain these emotions too much. I don’t suppress them as I used to. Now, what I do is DEAL with the issues. Life sucks sometimes. It’s not perfect, nor does life ever fit our “expectations”. Ever. Β It just is what is, and is what we make it out to be. If you continue to make your life a misery, than that ‘s what you will always have. So choose to be happy, or choose to be angry.

Today’s crafty endeavor is…….

This is Harold. He was intentionally made for the Brooklyn Indie Market this saturday, but my daughter, dude. She fell in love. So how could I deny my offspring?

I made a little family.

You like it? Can you believe, she took ownership of them ALL. ohwell. The fabric is vintage fabric, so I’m glad she treats her toys well.

The Craftaholic

