Day 200: Glittery Cat Bookmarks

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“The rationale for loving others is the recognition that every living being has the same right to and desire for happiness and not suffering.”

We ALL have the right to be happy, and live a positive life. Just because you don’t agree with someone’s choices in life, doesn’t mean that their misfortune is their fault. This is a major misconception among the religious folks that I grew up with. Some religions preach that if your life is not going in a positive way, if things are not going the way you planned it to be, that it is because of your lack of faith in their personal god, or belief system. My parents and cousins actually believe this way. Who cares what other people think? I could care less. I have cousins that live in suburbia, and think that I must be sad because I live in an apartment in Brooklyn. One cousin came to my apartment for the first time and said, “Oh I’m suprised that this is such a nice area, and it’s brooklyn.” Meanwhile, some of the hippest and richest people in the United States live here in brooklyn.

I am happy where I’m at. I don’t need fixing. I don’t need any salvation. I AM my own salvation. My happiness lies within me, with my joy of being a mother and an artist.

Anyway, today’s crafty endeavor is a set of 6 bookmark tags. I use bookmarks A LOT. This is mostly because I have a lot of books that I read simultaneously. Right now, I’m reading the books: Che, Frida, The Dhamapadama, and the Motorcycle Diaries. And then the craft books, Wooh! I could use up the whole set just marking up the pages of “The Big Ass Book of Crafts” by Mark Montano. Seriously.

Anyway, here’s the set I made:

Awesomness, don’t you think? The paper is from Junebug. The stamp set is called Cool Cat, I think. It’s a retired Stampin Up set. I put some glitter on the edges. It’s foil glitter. Then I sprayed it with a spray glaze thing, so that the glitter won’t go all over the place. Nothing worst than craft herpes.

Anyway, the paper is cut from a die cut with my big shot. I used to have a cricut, but that thing is just annoying. Why the heck would I want to spend over $60 on some cartridge when all I want is one or two of the whole set? I’m cheap. What can I say. I’d rather buy more fancy papers than buy a cartridge. That, and I can use my big shot with my little one, and not fear that she’ll get her hand caught, or break the machinery. Plus, I just like it and I couldn’t figure that thing out for the life of me. I don’t like it when I have to buy extra parts for expensive gadgets. You know?

Anyway, here’s a close up shot:

I love these! Oh yeah, I embossed the cat, so he’d stand out a bit more. And then the tassel is of generic purple yarn, and DMC Threads. I love that they have such pretty sparkly threads!

What else?

Oh, I got the parts for my I-Top Brad maker. So I made a set of jumbo brads.

Now, what the heck do I do with them?

The Craftaholic

