Day 199: Embossed Bird Cards

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“Ideas are the engine of progress.”

Ideas. Dreams. Goals. These are good things, the Dalai Lama says here. Moving forward takes ideas and goals. We cannot make progress without having an idea.

We live our life in a practical way, just thinking about what is in front of us, in our life. And that’s good, in the sense of worry and things like that. It’s not good to worry about the future. But at the same time, it’s important to have ideas, goals , dreams…these are things that make us thrive. Some people call that having their “head in the clouds”.  But you know what? Sometimes you have to get your head in the clouds, so you can land on your feet, and have an idea of what to do when you land. Right?

Today’s crafty goodness is a set of cards I made. It’s easy. I embossed the little bird there, with black embossing powder. This is a set for a swap that my partner supposedly did not receive.

I made 5 of these, a few for two different swaps that I have. You like them? I created a nice little layer with chipboard, and pretty paper, so that the bird stands out a bit. I wanted to add glitter, but I think it’ll cheapen it.

You don’t need much to make this set of cards. I used Kraft colored paper from Papertrey Ink, and the “Always” Stamp set from Stampin up. And chipboard, for the pinkish looking paper there. I covered the chipboard with pretty paper, and glued it on top of the brown paper. Easy peasy.

What do you think? You like it? Oh! I also made matching envelopes, because I ran out. I always keep one plain envelope, so I can trace it and make other pretty envelopes. It’s a cheap way to make a nice set of cards. Envelopes are expensive, for those of you who notoriously make cards like I do.

The Craftaholic

