Day 198: Your Inner Frida & Fabric Covered Owl Journals

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“As human beings we all want to be happy and free from misery… we have learned that the key to happiness is inner peace. The greatest obstacles to inner peace are disturbing emotions such as anger, attachment, fear and suspicion, while love and compassion and a sense of universal responsibility are the sources of peace and happiness.”

We are our own worst enemy. Inner peace is something we all wish to obtain. But upon thinking of inner peace, I think of my art. Do you have peace within your creative self? We each have a creative self-it’s that inner Frida Kahlo, that wishes to be marching down the street demonstrating and protesting, the inner Frida that longs to just conquer her problems through art. What would your inner Frida say to you? Listen. The key to having inner peace with your creative self, is in two parts: 1) you must remove attachments and expectations 2) Listen. Be still and listen to your self. Remove the distractions in your life, or at least learn to live with them (sometimes distractions come in the form of 10 lb babies, so who would want to remove something as beautiful as that?).

Learn to make peace with your inner Fridha. Listen to her, feed her, care for her.

Today’s crafty endeavor is a fabric covered journal. I lurve this journal! It’s so easy, too! It’s totally thrifty and easy to make.

All you need is:

E-6000 glue, although you can use a glue gun if you don’t have this glue

Scrap fabric

Dollar Store Journal

Scissors, to cut the fabric

Here’s what it looked before I covered it:

So, I used my E-6000 glue, because it’s just easier than sewing, or using a glue gun. You can use a glue gun, if that’s what you’ve got.

Just cover the book carefully. Make sure to hold the fabric taut so that there aren’t any lumps or anything. Here’s what it looks like inside:

So at least by looking on the inside of the book, you can see what it looks like. Cool, right?

Here’s the finished work:

Cool, right? I really enjoyed this today! On such a rainy day, it’s nice to make a simple little crafty project. I made two of these, but I’m not selling the second one. Perhaps I’ll do something with it, who knows.

What else? It’s rainy today, so I’m going to be making soup. Rainy weather is good for soup, don’t you think?

Also, I have been lacking motivation! Arg. I just have to get up off my ars and work. I have THREE craft fairs this month to prep for! Holy cow. Someone send me the motivation! Lately, I just want to take naps. Usually a glittery project takes me out of my funk, so perhaps I’ll do some fun glittery project. I think it’s time to march over to Tinsel Trading, and buy some german glass glitter. What do you think?

The Craftaholic

