Day 197: Beads, Beads, Beads!

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“If we lose our human values by having everything mechanized, then machines will dictate our lives.”

I met a buddhist priest today. Being around him, for me, actually was quite life changing. It made me go home and think of the things that I want to make better with my life. It made me want to go and improve myself, not just for me, or for my own personal empowerment, but for my family, and for my daughter, whom I love so much.

Having everything mechanized and automated makes things easier, doesn’t it? I mean, don’t get me wrong. I LOVE the internet. I love being able to pay things online, and being able to send emails to people. But it sort of makes things less meaningful, doesn’t it?

I have a friend named Winter, that refuses to sign up for facebook. You know why? Because it makes things less personal. It’s true. Without the internet, I think that perhaps we would meet face to face a bit more. Don’t you think?

Here’s a challenge for you: try to limit the amount of time that you’re online. I do this by putting on movies for my daughter on the computer. This way, I get so much more done. The internet is too addictive. Between facebook, wordpress, twitter, the insessant facebook games, and everything else, who has time for face to face contact? Limits. Have some limits. Turn of your computer and your tv, and go make art. Go meet people. Be warm hearted.

Today, as my creative endeavor, I went to the Whole Bead Show, here in New York City. Truth be told, I am a true New Yorker, in the sense that I am always expecting everything to be humungous, and gigantic, and exaggerated, as is most of what is here in New York.  So, I thought it was going to be large and in charge. But it wasn’t. But still, I wasn’t disappointed. I went searching for jewelry making supplies and inspiration, and I did indeed find it.

Here’s some shots of what I took home:

Nice, right?

Here’s a close up of one of my favorites:

I love the Lakshmi Pendant and the skull beads. The skulls I bought on impulse, thinking only of my daughter who loves skeletons. Maybe I’ll save them and make her a charm bracelet when she’s big enough to wear jewelry.

And I LOVE these. I bought them to make a cool pair of earings and necklace. What do you think? Too big? The turquoise leaves are for earings for my mother in law, and those of you whom love me with crafty goodness. You know who you are.

What else? OH! The other day I was out for a walk with my daughter, for Tacos (she LOVES them) and printer ink (to print out patterns, of course). Upon my walk to staples, I discovered a COOL used book store! AWESOMENESS, I have to tell you. They have loads of my two favorite subjects: cookery (& baking), and crafts. OMG. Seriously. Although some  of the books where crafts from the 1980s, there were some cool ones from the 60s and 70s, which were fun crafty eras, I think. I bought one book, that truly, I just bought for the cover. Actually, I thought of Jennifer Perkins when I bought this book:

Awesome, right? I love the owl on the cover. And no, I won’t tell you where it is, because most of you reading this, don’t even live in Brooklyn, do you? Hehehe…you can come with me though, if you want….but you will be sworn to secrecy…

Oh! My friend Evelyn made this for me:

Isn’t it beautiful? It’s a turtle! Turtles bring good luck. I love this piece so much.

I started an amigurumi toy today, but I can’t post pictures because I don’t have any yet, and also, what if it turns out to be a craft fail? So you’ll have to wait.

So? Anyone have some fun inspiring jewelry making inspiration to share?

The Craftaholic

