Day 191: New Poetry & A Few Accordion Albums

by thecraftaholic

“We cannot learn real patience and tolerance from a guru or a friend. They can be practiced only when we come in contact with someone who creates unpleasant experiences. According to Shantideva, enemies are really good for us as we can learn a lot from them and build our inner strength.”

You know why this is? Because you can always count on learning a lesson from a hard time in your life. I’l illustrate what I mean with a poem I wrote last night. It’s called “Creation”.

This poem came to me in what will hopefully be a series of poems. I found a book of poems that my grandfather had self published (in spanish of course). A fellow poet suggested that I rewrite them. So I am. Here’s one of them.

Creation

Chaos and confusion

my

mind was

and dark clouds surrounded

my little dark home

and my little dark world

it was

utter

chaos

Perhaps it was all just a

veil or

shroud

covering my

cheap thrift store clothing

there were

ghosts and

spirits hiding

lurking

But then…

upon seeing a sort of purplish-ish colored light

I

think perhaps

the dark spirits left

(packed away their little clouds)

and

in the middle of the ocean

the darkest night

I

saw the

light of the moon

gazing at me

shining on the water deep

“Turn on the light, dammit”

Now the sun shines upon the trees that appeared and

the wind blows through the

flowers I made of paper and the

Birds I formed from clay

and

I gave them song

with my voice I made music for the dolphins swimming in

said water deep

and suddenly around me

I

see paradise

now

from just my voice

from just the moon, I

made my world

appear

So today’s crafty endeavor, is a set of four black & white damask themed accordion albums that were part of a special order from a good friend of mine, Mindy.

Like them?

I also made a cute little set of stickers. These are hand glittered, and hand painted.

Like them? These are for sale in my shop.

Anything else to report? Well I have a couple of craft fairs coming up in April. So I’m really busy making stuff for that, and doing some commissioned art work. So I must bid farewell until tomorrow! It seems like there is never enough time in the day…

The Craftaholic

