Day 185: Another Purse of Vintage Fabric

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“Basically we are all the same human beings with the same potential to be a good human being or a bad human being … The important thing is to realize the positive side and try to increase that; realize the negative side and try to reduce. That’s the way.”

Increase the positive. That sounds so easy. Living in New York City, one is surrounded by both ends of the sprectrum-both good and bad. Here, you see some of the the richest and poorest people in the world. So for me, the challenging thing is to notice the positive things more. It’s not that I don’t see them. I don’t really notice them. Let’s try to notice the good things in life. Let’s try to see the beauty in our life.

SOmewhere in the world,. there is a mother without a child there is a family without a home, there is sadness. everywhere. But…there is also a sun that rises and sets, there is air in your lungs, there are birds that sing…my daughter singing the beatles songs to me, my husband playing the banjo in the morning, the sound of the subway rattling by, and the look of my daughter sleeping at night angelically. These are  the things that make me notice the positive things in life.

What are things around you, that make you think of the positive things in life? Notice the things that make you notice. Take time to walk slower, to think about things. Really think about things. When you step out and look at things from the big picture, you realize how foolish you are to only notice the negative.

Anyway, today I made another purse. I used different fabric, and a slightly different style. This fabric is still vintage. I can’t remember where I got it though. Hmm.

Lots of pockets, because I love a purse with lots of pockets for putting little pens, pencils, knitting needles, etc.

Cute, right? I love making purses. I’m a purse person. My mother, she’s a shoe-holic. She litterally has closets FULL of shoes. Me? I stick to a couple pairs of shoes. My thing is jewelry and purses. Handbags. LOVE THEM.

So I really like this fabric a lot. I am inspired now to make a trip to Mood, and purchase some yummy fabric to make more totebags. Maybe I’ll sell a couple. Actually, I have some of this fabric left over. So maybe tomorrow, I’ll make one and sell it.

