Day 178: Make A Book of YOU-Part 1 + custom colored glitter!

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“If you have a sincere and open heart, you naturally feel self-worth and confidence, and there is no need to be fearful of others.”

Yesterday I wrote about having a good heart. Today, it’s about being open and sincere. The one thing I hate about living in New York is the fakeness of people. I hate that. More than I can’t stand the coldness, I have low tolerance for fake people.

REALLY low.

One thing we can all try to do, is know our truth. If we know our truth, then we know ourselves, and can act with a “sincere and open heart”. But then…what does it mean to know our truth? Our truth is who we are, and what we are looking for. Knowing this can affect your every day life, and the friendships you seek.

Know your truth. What do you REALLY want in life? What are your dreams, your goals in life? Are you who you envision yourself to  be? What I mean is, we all come to this earth flawed, and wrinkled. I realized this shortly after giving birth to my daughter. Not that she had flawed, because really, how many flaws can a 3 week old have, right? But she already had her own personality. Even in the hospital, just a few days old, she never wanted to be swaddled. She would wiggle and squirm until she had nothing on her. I thought it was so cute, that she just didn’t like something. I mean, only a few days old, and she already had her likes and dislikes.

So we all come to the earth with our quirks and our flaws. But we can choose to evolve. Do you see yourself evolving, changing, growing? I see myself growing. Evolving. But then, I’m a sagitarius. We LIVE for change and evolution. If you’re a taurus or virgo out there (who detest change), just think: we all grow up to be adults. And just as our physical body grows, so our spiritual body, and mental self must also grow. It is not nice to be just like our children in the playground.

When you are in touch with your truth, then it makes you respond to the world around you differently. When you are focused on the truth within you, you aren’t acting nutty, or expecting the world to grant you something it doesn’t have to.

Today I have a cool project for you. I started a project, it’s called, “The Book of You”.

This book is just as the title suggests. It’s a chunky scrapbook, about you. Not really the pictures, but about your desires. What do you see yourself becoming? What do you want from your life, from your future? This is what this book is about. This is a book of pictures, affirmations, and just all the things that catch your eye, that you call beautiful, combined with words and objects that personify what you want in life.

The first thing you’ll need is seven pieces of chipboard. These are cut to 1/4 the size of a regular copy paper sheet. I know there are more than seven sheets in the page. The rest are for another project soon to come.

After that, get some papers you really love. The papers will of course, go with your theme (which is or should be, what you want in life).

These are the ones I picked.

And on the other side….

Then, glue them to the chipboard. I covered all of them with the paper to the left, then the other side, with the paper to the right. I know some of the white parts and chipboard are sticking out. It doesn’t matter, we’re going to cover the edges with….

YES. Glitter.

Let that dry, and we’ll chat tomorow, about what to do next.

Meanwhile, here’s a bonus tute for you.

I love glitter snow. ALOT. It’s fun. The only thing is, it does of course, only come in clear white. But that can change, my crafty friends!

So, here’s how to make your own CUSTOM colored glitter.

You’ll need, of course, some glitter snow.

It’s easy peasy to do this. Just sprinkle the glitter on some cardstock.

Now for the next step, get your container where you plan on storing this glitter, and some india ink. India ink is easy to get at any art supply store.

Just put the glitter in your container, and add about 6 or 7 droppers full of india ink, and shake, shake, shake. Also, it helps to have a chopstick or bamboo skewer or something like that.

At the end, you should have some thing like this:

I had to take the picture in the bathroom, because it has the best lighting. And you still can’t really see all the glimmer to it. But trust me, this works. You can also use glimmer mist, but it makes for a  paler look.

Anyway, that’s all for now.

The Craftaholic

