Day 173: A Magic Glittery Castle Memory Book

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“Our problems, though grave and complex, are within our own power to control and rectify.”

Everything is possible, that’s what this tells me. We can create our own destiny, and we have the power to change our situations. Too often we get blinded by the religiousness of having faith that somehow magically things will happen for us. But that’s not true, is it? No. We must create our own destiny. We must work at it.

When you plant a seed, what happens? Does it just grow, all by itself? Does the plant flourish all by its lonesome? No. There must be a gardener there, tending to it, giving it food, water, providing sunlight and fertilizer. ALL those things combined, make for a wonderful plant. So that’s life. Sometimes in life, just like with plants, we get some weeds. We get bugs and creepy crawling things that attempt to eat our roots. But we have to protect ourselves, like we do with our plants. We have to make the positive things in our life, not just expect some cosmic force to wave it’s magic wand.

Today’s crafty endeavor is the finished product of what I started yesterday.

I call this album, the Magic Castle.

I used a little chipboard album in the shape of a sand castle, but I wanted it to be a REAL castle. So I used lots of chunky foil glitter. You know, the kind you get in the kids section of the art supply store…?

Anyway, I covered the chipboard in glitter, sprayed it with shellaq, and then added some other pages that I cut out of  the pages of K&Co. Saffron stack.

Then, the rest is easy. Just add the pictures, and the embellishments. These albums are why it’s so much fun to take pics of your loved ones, and why it’s so fun to hoard scrapbook supplies.

Like it?

I love it. I really like making memory books.

You know what I think? I think that we hipsters ought to reclaim scrapbooking. I mean, where I live, if you tell someone you like to keep a scrapbook, they either tell you that someone they know in NJ or Idaho also does it, or they look at you funny. I mean, I’m not one of those die hard scrapbook fanatics. I have my collage art that I love,  and altered art. But still. Keeping memory books can be cool, dammit.

Also, check out this cool book I just made:

It’s for sale in my shop, of course.

What do you think?

The Craftaholic

