Day 170: Make an Owl Wish Jar

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“Compassion is not religious business, it is human business, it is not luxury, it is essential for our own peace and mental stability, it is essential for human survival.”

I think I’m at the point in my one year challenge where recycling is in order. I love this quote because it really commands. Here, the Dalai Lama tells you that it is your responsibility to practice compassion. It’s not something you should “think about” doing. If you want peace of mind, you must practice compassion.

In case you forgot what compassion is, here’s the dictionary.com definition:

a feeling of deep sympathy and sorrow for another who is stricken by misfortune, accompanied by a strong desire to alleviatethe suffering.

But let’s make this a VERB instead of a noun. Alright?

Today, I made a wish jar. This jar is easy to make.

All you need is:

an old jar (I used a watkins co. jar)

glitter (i used martha stewart)

Aleen’s Tacky Glue

beads

28 gague beading wire

oversized owl pendant, or any other sort of pendant that calls to you.

All you do, is cover the jar with glitter. For this of course, you should use glue (unless you have superpowers, which in case, please share with the group). Let it dry.

While that’s drying, string up the owl on to the wire, and pull enough wire to wrap it around the jar. I would say at least 12 inches on each side of the pendant.

To apply, just center the pendant on the jar, and carefully wrap the beads around the spout of the jar.

You can finish here, or add a couple of finishing touches. I added a little pink cabychon rose on the jar.

Also, on the inside, I made a little book that goes inside the jar. I bound the book with the same beading wire, and attached it to a foil flower that I made a while back.

You like it? The booklet inside is a poem that tells what I want in my life.

